Graduate Student Awards

 2017 W.D. Hamilton Award

Congratulations to Emily Behrman who won the prestigious W.D. Hamilton Award from the Society for the Study of Evolution at their recent meeting. This award is giving to the best student presentation at the Evolution conference.  The title of Emily's presentation is "Rapid Evolution of Learning in Natural Populations of Drosophila melangogaster.  Evolution is an international conference sponsored by the Society for the Study of Evolution, the American Society of Naturalists, and the Society of Systematic Biology.  It was held in Portland, Oregon on June 23-27, 2017.  Emily will be graduating with her doctoral degree in August 2017.  Emily is pictured to the right giving the presentation of her research.

Emily also won Honorable Mention for the Ruth Patrick Graduate Student Poster Award by the American Society of Naturalists.  Her poster was titled: "Dynamics of Seasonal Adaptation in Natural Populations of Drosophila melanogaster."


2017 Biology Department Retreat Poster Awards

  • Stephen Anderson - Title: N6-methyladenosine modulates RNA secondary structure and translational RNA decay in Arabidopsis
  • Erica Lawrence - Title: The role of vegetative phase change in plant physiological functioning
  • Christopher Venters - Title: U1 snRNP telescripting regulates size-function stratified human genome



  • Alexandra Brown - Title: When Do Hosts Evolve Horizontal Transmission in Response to Spatial Variation in Symbiont Quality?
  • Riley Graham - Title: How do histone modifiers contribute to a critical period of behavioral programming in ants?
  • Ammon Perkes - Title: The Mindful Songbird - Respiratory Feedback in the Avian Song System


  • Mohd Farid Abdul Halim  -  A Novel Anchoring Mechanism for Diverse Prokaryotic Surface Proteins
  • Aaron Leiichty - Evolution of Vegetative Phase Change in Acacia
  • Ben Galeota-Sprung - Bacterial Sex Impedes the Spread of Mutators


Society of Women Environmental Professionals Graduate Student Scholarship

  • Bianca Reo Charbonneau (2015)

National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate Fellowship (Department of Defense)

  • Bianca Reo Charbonneau (2015-2018)
  • Alexandra Brown (2015-2018)

IGERT Traineeship

  • Ammon Perkes (2015-2017)

HHMI Graduate Student Fellowship

  • Janani Saikumar (2015-2017)

NSF Fellowships

  • Ben Galeota-Sprung (2016-2019)
  • Erica Lawrence (2016-2019)
  • Michael Warner (2015-2018)

NIH Cell and Molecular Biology Training Grant

  • Erica Boetefuer (2014-2016)
  • Ruby O'Lexy (2014-2016)

NIH infectious Diseases Training Grant

  • Tam H. Tran (2017-2018)

NIH Parasitology Training Grant

  • Alexander Berry (2017-2018)

NIH Genomics Training Grant

  • Jean Gabriel Rosario (2015-2018)

Dissertation Completion Fellowships

  • Mitchell Newberry

Dissertation Research Fellowships

  • Un-Sa Lee
  • Ruthsabel O'Lexy
  • Haoran Zhou
  • Erica Lawrence
  • Rohini Singh
  • Justin Walsh
  • Michael Warner

Dean's Award for Distinguished Teaching by a Graduate Student

  • Erica Boetefuer (2017)
  • Lee Dietterich (2016)

William H. Telfer Travel Awards

  • Aaron Leichty
  • Riley Graham
  • Alexandra Brown

Orville Phillips Endowment

  • Daniel Barnes (2015-2016)