Ted Abel elected AAAS Fellow

Dr. Ted Abel, the Brush Family Professor of Biology, was named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Researchers are awarded this honor by the AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. He was recognized for notable contributions to the field of neuroscience, particularly for studies of the molecular mechanisms of memory storage and the biological basis of behavior. Dr.

Josh Plotkin to receive the 2015 Akira Okubo Prize in Mathematical Biology

Awarded once every four years to a scientist younger than 40, the 2015 Akira Okubo Prize of the International Society for Mathematical Biology will go to Biology’s Joshua Plotkin for his “innovative theoretical work.” Professor Plotkin will deliver two prize lectures this summer, one at the Society for Mathematical Biology's annual conference, in Atlanta this June, and another at the Japanese Society for Mathematical Biology annual conference, in Kyoto in August. Click here to read the award citation.

Congratulations to Dorothy Cheney

Professor Dorothy Cheney has been awarded an honorary doctorate from the University of Neuchâtel in Switzerland. Dorothy and her husband Professor Robert Seyfarth, Department of Psychology, have contributed importantly to our understanding of communication and social behavior in non-human primates.  To do so, they have employed especially careful long-term observational field studies, most recently with free ranging baboons in the Okavango Delta, Botswana.  Professor Seyfarth received the same honorary degree.

Phil Rea elected AAAS fellow

Dr. Philip A. Rea was named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He was recognized for his discoveries on the membrane transport and detoxification of xenobiotics and for his accomplishments and creativity in science education. Dr. Rea is a Professor of Biology and the Rebecka and Arie Belldegrun Distinguished Director of the Roy and Diana Vagelos Program in Life Sciences and Management. 

Dr. Rea and the other newly elected fellows will be honored at the AAAS Fellows Forum on Saturday, Februrary 15, 2014, at the AAAS Annual Meeting in Chicago.